Founding Members

The Council for the Defence of British Universities was established in November 2012 by sixty-six Founding Members.

Their number includes a dozen past and current presidents of Britain’s foremost learned societies − the British Academy, the Royal Society of London, the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and the Learned Society of Wales − eight members of the Order of Merit, nineteen members of the House of Lords, Nobel prize winners, a Fields medalist, a former Poet Laureate, former Vice-Chancellors and cabinet ministers, major literary figures, and several of the most familiar public faces of science and scholarship.

Back to Top